If you are facing charges for a sex crime in Oregon, it is extremely important that you take action to protect yourself and defend your rights. Whether you’ve been charged with rape, sexual assault, internet sex crimes, or child pornography, these allegations could have a significant impact on your life. The penalties for these types of crimes can be steep indeed, sometimes resulting in imprisonment and registry as a sex offender. To ensure your future is protected, make sure you know what types of sex crime charges you could face in Oregon and learn more about the potential penalties.
Oregon Sexual Assault Laws
In Oregon, sex crimes are categorized according to the actions of the accused and the age of the accuser. For example, if a person is convicted of a sex crime involving a child under the age of 12, the consequences could be up to 20 years in prison and $375,000 in fines. However, sexual assault crimes involving a person under 18 years old may lead to 30 days in prison and up to $1,250 in fines.
Types of Sex Crimes
Sex crimes in Oregon are organized under one of four different categories. There are several different crimes that fit under each, and the penalties can vary greatly depending on the circumstances of the alleged event and the age of the accuser. The key types of sex crimes, as defined by Oregon law, are:
- Rape: There are three different degrees of rape, all of which include sexual intercourse where penetration occurs.
- Sodomy: Sodomy is also broken down by three degrees, and may involve “deviate sexual intercourse” involving one person’s sexual organs and the mouth or anus of another person.
- Unlawful Sexual Penetration: This type of crime occurs when one person is penetrated (either in the vagina, penis, or anus) with an object besides a sexual organ.
- Sexual Abuse: Most other types of sexual crimes that do not fall under any of the other categories will fall under sexual abuse. This usually includes inappropriate, sexual touching.
The penalties for sex crimes vary greatly. Crimes can either be charged as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the severity of the crime, the harm inflicted, and the age of the accuser.
Misdemeanors, which include third-degree sexual abuse, second-degree custodial sexual misconduct, and other similar crimes, can be punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $6,250 in fines.
Felonies, on the other hand, result in much more severe penalties, ranging between 4 and 20 years in prison. Felonies are categorized as either class C, class B, or class A. Class A felonies are worst of the bunch, and include first-degree rape, first-degree sodomy, and first-degree unlawful sexual penetration. If convicted, the individual could face up to $375,000 in fines. Penalties for class B felonies are slightly less severe, resulting in up to 10 years in prison and up to $250,000 in fines, while class C felonies are punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $125,000 in fines.
Besides these penalties, those convicted could also face other serious repercussions, including relationship strains, loss of child custody or visitation rights, and the inability to work around children. If you are facing sex crime charges, make sure you act fast to protect your freedom and future.
Contact the Law Office of Graham C. Fisher, LLCtoday to discuss your case with our Portland sex crimes lawyer.